Hunters and fisherman in Michigan will soon notice higher fees when they purchase licenses in the state.
Michigan Gov. Rick Snyder recently signed into law increased hunting and fishing fees, marking the first change rise in costs for licenses in more than 15 years.
Snyder said the money will be reinvested into important assets for the state of Michigan, in what he views will have a positive return on investment. The bill to increase fees was approved by the Michigan House of Representatives by a vote of 24-14.
The state expects to rake in $20 million a year with the new fees, most of which will be used to fund projects for fish and wildlife, conservation employees, hunter/angler education and outreach efforts.
"Many people don't understand that most money for natural resource management comes from the sale of hunting and fishing licenses," said Erin McDonough, executive director of the Michigan United Conservation Clubs. "Everyone can enjoy 'Pure Michigan' because of the investment that Michigan sportsmen and women make. We're proud to provide that legacy for the rest of the state."
The law will take effect come March 1, an Michigan hunters can expect to pay $10 - with a $1 surcharge - to hunt small game and birds, while a deer license will cost $31, up from $15. Anglers can expect to pay $26 for a year-long fishing license. However, it will only cost $76 for those purchasing a package including the base hunting license, two deer licenses and a fishing license.
Hunters heading out for this season, or preparing for next year, are encouraged to take preventative measures to protect their vehicle. Husky Liners® custom fit floor mats will ensure an interior of vehicle stays clean, no matter what Mother Nature throws at an owner.